| Read Time: 4 minutes | Blog
dui penalties in florida

Driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, also known as DUI or DWI respectively, carries stiff penalties in Florida. The DUI penalties in Florida increase with each new offense if you have prior convictions for DUI. 

A Florida DUI penalties chart might help you better understand what you may be facing after getting such a charge. Understanding all of the possible Florida DUI penalties helps us explain your options as we work to resolve your case. 

If you get a DUI in Florida, the penalties could have a strongly negative impact on your life. Having a tough, aggressive, and experienced DUI lawyer can give you the best chance of avoiding the harsh Florida DWI penalties.

At Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon, we put your needs first. We’ve always done it that way. Since 1913, the Pensacola criminal defense attorneys from Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon have fought valiantly for their clients. 

What Is DUI in Florida?

Florida’s DUI statute says that you can be charged with DUI if you drive or have physical control over a vehicle:

  • While under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs, or both; or
  • When you have a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.08%.

The Florida statutes also include aggravating factors that could increase the penalties you face. 

Florida DUI Penalties Chart

A Florida DUI penalty chart can be a valuable resource when trying to get your mind around what you might be facing. Once you understand the potential consequences of a DUI conviction, you can work with your lawyer to find the best way to handle your defense. You might want to fight the case, or you might want to negotiate a plea bargain to a lesser offense. Either way, the Florida DWI lawyers with Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon will fight for your rights every step of the way. 

Possible Jail SentenceFinesPeriod of License SuspensionImpoundment Ignition Interlock DeviceAdditional Penalties
First OffenseOne day to six months. Probation up to one year.$500 to$1,000180 Days10 DaysNoneCommunity Service for 50 hours. Complete DUI school; Submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
First Offense— Having a BAC of 0.15% or above or with a minor in the vehicle One day to nine months.Probation up to one year.$1,000 to $2,000One Year 10 DaysSix MonthsCommunity Service for 50 hours. Complete DUI school; Submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
Second Offense Within Five Years10 days to nine months.Probation for up to one year$1,000 to $2,000Five Years10 Days but 30 days if second DUI conviction in three yearsOne year minimumComplete DUI school and submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
Second Offense—  Having a BAC of 0.15% or above or with a minor in the vehicle10 days to 12 months. Probation for up to one year.$2,000 to$4,000Five Years10 Days but 30 days if second DUI conviction in three years.One Year minimumComplete DUI school and submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
Second Offense Outside of Five YearsOne day to nine months. Probation up to one year.$1,000 to$2,000Six MonthsMandatory 10 daysMinimum of one yearComplete DUI school and submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
Second Offense Outside Five Years — Having a BAC of 0.15 or above or with a minor in the vehicleOne day to 12 months. Probation up to one year.$2,000 to$4,000One YearMandatory 10 DaysMinimum of one yearComplete DUI school and submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
Third Offense within 10 Years of First Conviction30 Days to 12 months. Probation up to one year.$1,000 to $5,00010 Years10 days or 90 days if third DUI within five years.Two-year minimumComplete DUI school and submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
Third Offense within 10 Years of First Conviction— Having a BAC of 0.15 or above or with a minor in the vehicle30 days to 12 months. Probation up to one year.$4,000 to $5,00010 Years10 days or 90 days if third DUI within five years.Two-year minimumComplete DUI school and Submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
Fourth Offense or Greater —  Third Degree FelonyOne day to five years. Probation for one to five years. $2,000 to$5,000Permanent Revocation10-day mandatory periodTwo-years minimumComplete DUI school and submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.
Fourth Offense or Greater Charged as a Felony— Having a BAC of 0.15 or above or with a minor in the vehicleOne day to five years. Probation for one to five years.$2,000 to$5,000Permanent Revocation10-day mandatory periodTwo-years minimumComplete DUI school and submit to substance abuse evaluation and treatment as necessary.

Collateral DUI Penalties

You face additional collateral penalties for a DUI charge. You will very likely have to pay more for your insurance premiums after getting a DUI conviction.

You will not be able to drive until you reinstate your license, and you will have to pay exorbitant fees for that reinstatement. Therefore, until you can get those fees together you will have to rely on others to drive you around. These types of transportation problems could make it hard to get to work and ultimately lead to job loss.

Additionally, you could have problems with your employer if the probation department determines that you need inpatient alcohol or drug treatment. 

How You Can Avoid Harsh DUI Penalties in Florida

As you see from the DUI penalties chart, the court has the potential to upend your life by imposing a harsh sentence. However, having an attorney with decades of experience fighting for clients in Florida courts can help you navigate these tumultuous waters—and give you the best shot at a good outcome. 

Discuss Your Florida DUI Case Today with an Aggressive DUI Lawyer

Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon’s Florida DUI attorneys understand that everyone makes mistakes. But one mistake shouldn’t ruin your life. Having an experienced and knowledgeable DUI defense lawyer on your side can help you avoid the harsh DUI penalties in Florida. Why are we so confident? Our firm has fought for people’s rights since 1913. Not many firms can make that claim. Call us now at 850-433-6581 today so we can get to work protecting your rights. 

Rate this Post

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...