Inattentive motorists can seriously or fatally injure other motorists, pedestrians, motorcyclists, and bicyclists. When you are hurt, you will have to navigate both the physical injuries and the financial costs of treating them.
Our experienced personal injury attorneys may negotiate with insurers, collect evidence such as medical bills and police reports, and offer a shoulder to lean on during this trying time. You need adequate compensation to make up for your medical expenses, vehicle repairs, and the wages you will lose while recuperating. A Pace car accident lawyer could hold the negligent driver accountable for your injuries.
Florida is a no-fault state when it comes to automobile insurance. This means each driver relies on their own insurance instead of the offending driver’s. Drivers in Pace and around the state must carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability to be used if they cause damage to the other motorist’s property.
Florida Statute § 627.736 explains that PIP pays 80 percent of necessary medical treatment, as long as the injured party seeks treatment within 14 days of the accident. PIP also replaces 60 percent of an injured party’s current and future wages if the injured driver must recover before returning to work.
When injuries exceed what insurance will pay, an injured motorist can seek compensation by filing a personal injury lawsuit for negligence. Injured parties have two years to file claims. A Miramar Beach car accident attorney familiar with insurance and government regulations could review a situation, discuss options to maximize the amount of compensation an injured party can get, and ensure a lawsuit is filed on time.
Due to bill HB837 and the rule of modified comparative negligence, a plaintiff cannot recover damages if they are more than 50 percent responsible for the car accident and injuries. Some situations where comparative negligence is in play include:
Insurance companies famously lowball settlement offers and may use comparative negligence as an excuse. A savvy Pace auto collision attorney knows the tricks insurers pull after motor vehicle accidents and could gather all available evidence to prove how much compensation an injured party needs.
Santa Rosa County sees its fair share of vehicle accidents. When you are in an accident with a negligent driver, it is crucial to call a legal professional and discuss ways you can offset the expenses.
Emmanuel, Sheppard & Condon could negotiate with your insurer and, if your injuries require more compensation, hold the negligent motorist accountable for your physical and emotional losses. Contact a Pace car accident lawyer to learn how we can help you.